Tuesday, June 25, 2013

Bolla! Extra-Attacker Aides Blackhawk Comeback

No Mets, no Yankees nor Red Sox.  Only four games in the Majors and one hockey game.

Makes for a brief recap, right?  Not this time.

Reuters via Yahoo! Sports
At 10:30pm, you had to feel good as a Boston Bruins fan.  Entering the late realm of the 3rd Period, the Bruins possessed a 2-1 lead.

It was looking like a Wednesday night decisive Game 7 at the United Center in Chicago was in your grasp.

All you needed to do was to survive the extra-skater attack of the Blackhawks and you'd get to salute the crowd happily and send the Stanley Cup packing to the Midwest.

The Blackhawks had other ideas.

Having pulled Corey Crawford for the extra attacker, the Blackhawks hit gold when Bryan Bickell converted his 13th playoff goal of his career to tie the game with 1:16 left.  Rather than play for what would be the 4th overtime of the series, the Blackhawks with little to lose went all-in, as Dave Bolland was able to direct in the puck past Tuukka Rask to take the lead.

Now behind and needing a goal to stay alive in the series, the Boston Bruins were never able to start a well-orchestrated attack as the Blackhawks become the 2013 Stanley Cup Champions, winning the game 3-2 and the series 4 games to 2.

It's the 5th time the Chicago Blackhawks hoisted the Cup, the first since 2010.  Patrick Cane, who was also on that 2010 squad, was awarded the Conn Smythe Trophy, the award that is presented to the playoff MVP.

11 players who were on the 2010 roster will see their names engraved for the Chicago Blackhawks again in 2013.  Two of the 11 were scratched when the Blackhawks won it against Pittsburgh in 2010, but saw playing time last night.  That would be goaltender Corey Crawford and game-tying goal-scorer Bryan Bickell.

One player has the distinction of being on both the 2010 and 2013 rosters, but was scratched for both when the team clinched the cup.  That would be defensemen Shawn Lalonde.

Players who were on the roster for both the 2010 and 2013 clinching games

2 - Duncan Keith (D)
4 - Niklas Hjalmarsson (D)
7 - Brent Seabrook (D)
10 - Patrick Sharp (RW)
19 - Jonathan Toews (C)
29 - Bryan Bickell (LW)°
36 - Dave Bolland (C)
42 - Shawn Lalonde (D)²
50 - Corey Crawford (G)°
81 - Marian Hossa (RW)
88 - Patrick Cane (RW)

° - Was scratched for 2010 Cup Clincher, Played last night
² - Was scratched for both 2010 and 2013 Cup Clinchers.

The Toronto Blue Jays lose for the first time in 12 games as Esmil Rogers got hammered for three back-to-back-to-back home runs in his six innings of work, as the Tampa Bay Rays take the start of a three-game AL East showdown 4-1.

Jonathan Papelbon blew his 4th save in a row as the San Diego Padres came back with three runs in the bottom of the 9th, then walked off in the 10th inning on Kyle Blanks single with the bases loaded.  Cliff Lee was left in to start the 9th, but was unable to generate an out as the first two Padres were able to reach base.  Blanks scored the tying run on a passed ball.

In an NL West battle, the Los Angeles Dodgers drew first blood as a pitchers duel for 7 innings turned into a Dodgers 3-1 win after Yasiel Puig and Hanley Ramirez both batted in runs in the 8th inning.

And the Cleveland Indians scored three in the 6th and 2 in the 8th as they beat the Baltimore Orioles 5-2.

No comments:

Post a Comment