Sunday, October 20, 2013

Football Sectionals: Comparison from Last Year

Parity is the spice of life, they say.

Being able to rebound from an off-year to make the playoffs the next is an example of this.  But is this true when it comes to the Section 2 Sectionals?

Granted you will always have the perennial powers, like Cambridge, who has made Sectionals 19 straight years, and the same for Glens Falls, who narrowly continued their consecutive streak which now sits at 15 straight years.

Let's compare this year's field with last year's.  This year's new teams are in bold, last year's teams who failed to make it back are in italics.

This Year's Field:
Empire Division
This Year's Field: E1-CBA, E2-Saratoga Springs, E3-Guilderland, E4-Shenendehowa
Last Year's Field: E1-Shenendehowa, E2-CBA, E3-Guilderland, E4-Ballston Spa
Liberty Division
This Year's Field: L1-Shaker, L2-Colonie, L3-LaSalle, L4-Columbia
Last Year's Field: L1-Shaker, L2-Columbia, L3-Schenectady, L4-Colonie

Northwest Division
This Year's Field: NW1-Queensbury, NW2-Burnt Hills, NW3-Amsterdam, NW4-Gloversville
Last Year's Field: NW1-Burnt Hills, NW2-Amsterdam, NW3-Queensbury, NW4-Gloversville

With 4 of the 5 teams in the division making the playoffs, it's no surprise that the four teams making it this year are the same four that made it last year.  The only difference is Queensbury's rise from third to first in the division.

Southeast Division
This Year's Field: SE1-Troy, SE2-Averill Park, SE3-Mohonasen, SE4-Bishop Maginn
Last Year's Field: SE1-Troy, SE2-Scotia, SE3-Averill Park, SE4-Mohonasen

Scotia's demotion from A to B paved the way for Bishop Maginn to make the field of 4 for the Southeast.

This Year's Field: W1-Schalmont, W2-Broadalbin-Perth, W3-Scotia, W4-Glens Falls
Last Year's Field: W1-Schalmont, W2-Glens Falls, W3-Broadalbin-Perth, W4-Schuylerville

It was wild and came down to the last day of games, but what we saw was that Scotia's entry into B resulted in them substituting Schuylerville in the field.  Though, had the final night gone differently, we would have seen one new team in the playoffs, either Cobleskill or Johnstown.

This Year's Field: R1-Cohoes, R2-Ravena, R3-Lansingburgh, R4-Green Tech
Last Year's Field: R1-Lansingburgh, R2-Ravena, R3-Albany Academy, R4-Ichabod Crane

It's a big turnaround for the Tigers, coming from failing to make the playoffs last year to being the top dog in the Reinfurt.  And Green Tech finally finds their groove as they drive their way into the final seed.  Albany Academy was in the race until the final week, having lost a game that was a "Win-and-you're-in".  Ichabod Crane had a tough go this year.

This Year's Field: N1-Hoosick Falls, N2-Corinth, N3-Stillwater, N4-Mechanicville
Last Year's Field: N1-Hoosick Falls, N2-Mechanicville, N3-Tamarac, N4-Stillwater

Had Granville won the tiebreaker as we originally thought, they would have made two new teams in the C playoffs, but this year's new blood is a team that has gained a lot of respect from the fans and media alike.  The Tomahawks weren't pegged to be a home-field bearer, live alone getting a playoff berth, but here they are.

This Year's Field: S1-Chatham, S2-Fonda, S3-Voorheesville, S4-Watervliet
Last Year's Field: S1-Chatham, S2-Fonda, S3-Watervliet, S4-Voorheesville

So nothing much changes in the South. Just a flip between Voorheesville and Watervliet.

This Year's Field: N1-Greenwich, N2-Salem, N3-Warrensburg, N4-Whitehall
Last Year's Field: N1-Whitehall, N2-Salem

This is comparing apples to oranges, as this year there's a three-round playoff structure in Class D, and also the swap of Greenwich from the South to the North.

This Year's Field: S1-Cambridge, S2-Rennselaer, S3-Canajoharie, S4-Schoburg
Last Year's Field: S1-Cambridge, S2-Rennselaer

Same here.  All that changed is that the structure allowed for two new teams to make the playoffs.  Schoburg, in their first year of full Varsity, makes the playoffs after Bishop Gibbons declined the seeding.

No comments:

Post a Comment